Homemade Viennese Fingers

IMG_3443
shot by: Joyce Wong (ms_jwong)
I know its been a while since i’ve posted a recipe. To be honest, i’ve taken some time out to focus on my life. There’s been a lot of ‘self care’ and effort put into my days, while also trying to juggle tutoring, dancing and studying. But it’s nice to come back with this recipe – an oldie but a goodie.

My siblings and I used to eat shortbread biscuits when we were younger. Recently my little sister bought a packet of ‘Viennese Finger Biscuits’ from the supermarket because they were on sale – and it immediately brought back so many happy afternoon tea memories. This recipe is homemade, very simple – but not quite as easy as you think! The batter is quite thick and can be difficult to pipe out neatly. It took me a few times to get used to the consistency, and I had to use a double piping bag!
But in the end, the buttery shortbread biscuit dipped in dark chocolate is worth it. Now every time I bake these biscuits, it reminds me of my little sister and how much we love to eat them. I think they are our favourite childhood ‘bickie’.

♦ Viennese Fingers ♦

Makes: Roughly 15 biscuits
adapted from here.
• 125g unsalted butter, room temperature
• 35g icing sugar
• 112g plain flour
• 37g corn flour
• 1 tsp vanilla essence
• 2½ tbs milk
• 90g dark chocolate
  1. Using an electric mixer, cream the butter and icing sugar until it is pale and fluffy (approx. 5 minutes). Make sure to scrape down the sides when mixing.
  2. Add in flour and corn flour and mix until mixture is combined.
  3. Now mix vanilla essence and milk in with the dough.
  4. Pre-heat the oven to 180°c degrees.
  5. Carefully spoon the mixture into a piping bag, and then put that piping bag into another one. Therefore, you will be using 2 a ‘double layered’ piping bag for extra strength.
  6. As you pipe the biscuits onto the tray, use a sharp knife to cut the dough where you want to biscuit to end. Make sure the biscuits are spaced apart because they will expand when they cook.
  7. Bake the biscuits for 20 minutes until lightly golden brown. Place them onto a wire rack to cool at room temperature.
  8. Melt the dark chocolate and dip half biscuit into the chocolate, and let it dry on some baking paper.
  9. Leave the chocolate to set completely at room temperature.
  joyce’s tips  
• The mixture may be a little runnier than most shortbread recipes because I added more milk. I find it’s easier to pipe out, but it does make the cookie expand a little more so use a smaller nozzle if you want.
• I had to ‘double’ bag my piping bag because the first 2 times I made these cookies the batter was so thick it burst my piping bag.
• I baked these biscuits 3 times before I ended up on the right size cookie which suited me best. Don’t be disappointed if you don’t like your first batch, they will still taste the same. Just make some adjustments to the nozzle size for next time.
• Instead of vanilla extract, you can use lemon zest to flavor the shortbread if you want.
5 thoughts on “Homemade Viennese Fingers

      1. i’m so happy to hear that you tried out the recipe and loved the taste dearie! but i completely agree with you – it takes so much effort to pipe these cookies out! I don’t know how so many people say this is such a simple recipe – it took me so many trials to make them successfully because the batter was so tough and thick!

        Like

Leave a Reply

